If you don’t like hockey, don’t watch. If you don’t like it and don’t watch it…certainly don’t write about it

I have to say I am pretty dissapointed.  Yesterday, on the morning of game three of the Stanley Cup Finals, I read this headline on the Buffalo News when I woke up.  “NHL Playoff System Rewards Mediocrity”  produces outrages arguments that every team should play a home and home, eliminating the division/conference system, and that 82 games with 16 in the playoffs dilutes the product.  http://www.buffalonews.com/sports/columns/bob-dicesare/article886444.ece

I can only say this.  If you don’t like hockey, thats fine with me.  I happen to enjoy it among most things.  And if your going to be a sports writer, don’t blast a game simply because you having nothing else to write about (how, on the morning on game 3 of the finals, the Basketball playoffs, the olympics comming up, the Draft – an important one for the Sabres – you have nothing to write about I have no idea).  Admittedly I didn’t post yesterday.  But I’m a lazy blogger, not a professional sports writer.  It is the league’s job to put together a product and you can buy it or not.  It is not their job to make modifications until you are satisfied. 

Thankfully a dear friend came to rescue and provided me this.http://deadspin.com/5914617/how-the-kings-toughened-up-and-conquered-the-nhl

I tribute to a hard nosed style of hockey that the Kings have embodied that New Jersey will simply not be able to beat. LA is deep, talented, and have a goalie that is raising the bar for what it means to be a top tier goalie in the show.  No disrespect to Brodeur, who is playing great hockey, his team is just not good enough.  I guess I need to hold true to my prediction and say that NJ will steal a game here with their backs to the wall, but I’m questioning that after last nights sure win in LA. 

I am saddened that in a historical season of an 8 seed up 3 games to none in the finals, two American captains, and a major network television deal, all our Buffalo sports writers could muster up was an assault on a great game. 

Please let me watch game 4 in peace.

About kingswincup

washed up prep school goalie trying to play forward in the beer leagues
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If you don’t like hockey, don’t watch. If you don’t like it and don’t watch it…certainly don’t write about it

  1. Pingback: Todd Bertuzzi loses appeal; Brodeur vs. Roy; Shane Doan’s Skittles stick (Puck … - Rise of the Right

Leave a Reply

